Při poskytování služeb nám pomáhají soubory cookie. Používáním našich služeb vyjadřujete souhlas s naším používáním souborů cookie. Více informací

Úvodní stránka » RECORDS » RECORDS II » Bjørn Torske
Bjørn Torske
Nedi Myra

Bjørn Torske — Nedi Myra (June 22, 1998 / 2015)

Norway                       Bjørn Torske — Nedi Myra 
ΞΞ   Je naprosto zásadní věcí naslouchat reissue: Bjørn Torske z roku 1998, vydání Nedi Myra. Každá z osmi stop alba nabízí složité mechanismy, které jsou často charakterizovány bezpočrem rytmických prvků v interakcích současně.
ΞΞ   Část jeho nepopiratelného kouzla je v tom, že si nikdy nejste jisti, kam to půjde dál, ale není pochyb o tom, že to přinese kýženou odměnu. 
ΞΞ   Inspired by fellow Norwegian Biosphere, a house/techno pioneer in his home country, with releases on Tellé and Smalltown Supersound.
Born: 1971 in Tromsø, Norway
Location: Tromsø, Norway
Album release: June 22, 1998 / 2015
Record Label: Smalltown Supersound
Duration:     54:04
1 Expresso     (Bjørn Torske)     8:25  
2 Station To Station     (Bjørn Torske)     8:22  
3 Eight Years     (Bjørn Torske)     6:41  
4 Fresh From the Bakery     (Bjørn Torske)     6:07  
5 Smoke Detector Song     (Bjørn Torske)     6:26  
6 Beautiful Thing     (Bjørn Torske)     6:44  
7 Limb Fu     (Are Mundal / Bjørn Torske)     6:03  
8 Ode To a Duck     (Bjørn Torske)     5:16
•ΞΞ•   Oddgeir Huidsten Digital Assembly, Editing
•ΞΞ•   Are Mundal Composer
•ΞΞ•   Bjørn Torske Composer, Digital Assembly, Editing, Instrumentation
By Chad Barnes, Published Jan 23, 2015;  Score: 9
•ΞΞ•   The reissue of Bjørn Torske's 1998 release Nedi Myra is an essential listen. Each of the album's eight tracks offers intricate arrangements that are often characterized by countless rhythmic elements interacting simultaneously. Torske has managed to craft songs that allow breathing space for the various components as they seamlessly explore a multitude of genres. Despite its nu–disco categorization, which Nedi Myra interestingly mines, Nedi is also enriched by its inclusion of house, funk, dub, samba and psychedelic elements, to list but a few. This is exemplified on the opening track "Expresso," an undeniable nu–disco song that ends with multiple echo–laden synth stabs and nearly becomes a thumping house track in its closing notes.
•ΞΞ•   The track "Eight Years," conversely, sounds like what might have emerged from the studio had Air and DJ Shadow ever collaborated. The album ends with "Ode to a Duck," a straight samba composition that manages to cohere with the seven preceding compositions. Nedi Myra is not held together by strict adherence to a single genre, but is rather unified thematically by tracks that are all breezy and filled with whimsy. Part of its undeniable charm is that you're never sure where it'll go next, but there's no doubt that following it will yield rewards. :: http://exclaim.ca/
Review by Andy KellmanScore: ***½
ΞΞ   Bjørn Torske's first Ferox album, the rather excellent Remain, was released three years prior under his Ismistik alias, and explored Detroit–inspired home–listening techno. Nedi Myra began the Norwegian producer's album–to–album unpredictability with a switch to downtempo house. The tracks flit between sampled/looped and programmed/played elements, with Torske more adept here at the former. "Expresso" and "Limb Fu" are built around meaty disco–funk basslines and swirling samples, and together would have made for an exceptional 12" release. The nocturnal breakbeat science of "Eight Years," another standout, would not have been out of place on a Mo Wax compilation. Some cuts, like "Fresh from the Bakery" and "Ode to a Duck," veer close to upscale hotel–lobby music — at extreme odds with the album sleeve, which seems to portend acid–folk warblings or some other kind of introverted fare. Out of print for years, the album was reissued by Smalltown Supersound in 2015. :: http://www.allmusic.com/
Artist Biography by Ketil Mosnes
ΞΞ   Norwegian house and techno producer Bjørn Torske started experimenting with electronic music in the late '80s in his hometown of Tromsø. As a teenager he was inspired by other Tromsø musicians, especially Geir Jenssen, the musical prodigy later to be known as ambient pioneer Biosphere. Torske started releasing minimalist techno in the beginning of the '90s, primarily under the name of Ismistik. By the middle of the century he had released a dozen 12" singles on different labels such as Djax–Up–Beats and Reinforced Records, using the Ismistik name as well as other names such as Krisp and Open Skies. By then he was already considered a Norwegian techno and house pioneer; however, his big breakthrough as a producer came when he released his Nedi Myra LP on Ferox in 1998. Nedi Myra was highly appreciated by house lovers as well as the dance music press. By the release of Nedi Myra, Torske was also a member of Drum Island, a group that later transformed into the much more famous duo Röyksopp. Torske eventually moved to Bergen, Norway, but continued traveling all over world and became a world–class DJ. He released the acclaimed LP Trøbbel (Tellé Records) in 2001 and returned with his most experimental release to date, the Feil Knapp LP (Smalltown Supersound), in the spring 2007. The sound on Feil Knapp (Norwegian for "wrong button") was inspired by everything from techno to dub, alternative pop, and left–field electronica. The relatively loose Kokning, released in 2010, placed an emphasis on analog gear.

Bjørn Torske
Nedi Myra




Tycho — Weather


Only Yours


Peter Cat Recording Co.







Dawn Landes — Meet Me at the River (August 10, 2018)
Tais Awards & Harvest Prize
Za Zelenou liškou 140 00 Praha 4, CZE