Při poskytování služeb nám pomáhají soubory cookie. Používáním našich služeb vyjadřujete souhlas s naším používáním souborů cookie. Více informací

Úvodní stránka » ARCHIVE » Ethan Johns
Ethan Johns — If Not Now Then When (2012)

 Ethan Johns — If Not Now Then When (2012)

Ethan Johns — If Not Now Then When
¶   “I'm doing this tour primarily because visiting local record stores is still one of my favourite things to do. You just don't know what you’re going to find, whether it be an elusive album you've been searching for, for years, or an amazing new local band the shop assistant is playing when you walk through the door. Nothing beats it!" says Johns. "I buy vinyl when I can because it's a deeper listening experience than any of the digital formats, especially if the record has been cut and manufactured with care. So, for me, issuing this album on vinyl as its first edition just feels right. I'm genuinely looking forward to meeting people who love records just as much as I do, & I'm very grateful for those store owners who have struggled on. It's going to be a fantastic trip.”  E.J.
Born: 1969, Merton, Surrey, England, UK
Genres: rock, pop, Folk, indie rock, indie pop
Occupations: Record Producer, Songwriter, Mixer & Engineer
Notable instruments: Guitar, drums, keys
Location: xxx
Album release: November 2012
Recorded: January – June 2012
Record Label: Three Crows Records – TCR 1
Duration:     36:27
01. Hello Sunshine     (3:09)
02. Morning Blues     (3:44)
03. Eden     (3:51)
04. Red Rooster Blue     (3:33)
05. The Turning     (4:08)
06. Rally     (3:25)
07. Don't Reach Too Far     (2:40)
08. Whip Poor Will (Feat. Ryan Adams, Laura Marling, Danny Thompson) (5:03)
09. Willow     (3:27)
10. The Long Way Round     (3:28)
Website: http://www.ethanjohns.com/
By Etta Parsons  (Rating: 8/10); http://www.nme.com
¶   "He might have made a solid name for himself on the other side of the studio glass as a producer for Laura Marling, Ryan Adams and The Vaccines, but Ethan Johns is just as gently majestic when behind the mic. Quite rightly named Best British Producer at last year’s Brit Awards, Johns’ 10-track debut solo album If Not Now, Then When? is a placid but gutsy amble that pitches him as Bill Callahan dealing with a lazy hangover the morning after a pub crawl with Guy Garvey. As well as the coy croon of album opener ‘Hello Sunshine’ and the softly devastating ‘Whip Poor Will’, there’s a sleazy stomper, ‘Morning Blues’, that wouldn’t sound out of place on Nick Cave’s dirt-diggin’ soundtrack to last year’s marvellous moonshine movie Lawless. ‘Rally’ takes a psychedelic turn, echoing the aforementioned’s Bad Seeds, while album closer ‘The Long Way Round’ offers up some 1970s-style Brit-folk that treads the same eerie, evocative path laid by Fairport Convention and Nick Drake. More soon, Ethan ?"
Plus connu pour ses qualités de producteur, Ethan Johns sait aussi chanter et monter sur scene avec une guitare et un micro... A découvrir.
A1  Hello Sunshine Acoustic Guitar, Mellotron, Vocals – Ethan Johns
Producer – Dom Monks*
Recorded By – Dom Monks*   
A2  Morning Blues Drums – Jeremy Stacey
Electric Guitar, Vocals – Ethan Johns
Producer – Dom Monks*, Jeremy Stacey
Recorded By – Dom Monks*   
A3  Eden Drums – Jeremy Stacey
Engineer [Additional Engineering] – Dom Monks*
Instruments [All Other Instruments] – Ethan Johns
Producer – Dom Monks*, Jeremy Stacey
Recorded By – Jeremy Stacey   
A4  Red Rooster Blue Bass – Bill Wyman
Drums – Jeremy Stacey
Engineer [Additional Engineering] – Jeremy Stacey
Guitar, Vocals, Electric Piano [Wurlitzer] – Ethan Johns
Organ – Ian McLagan
Producer – Dom Monks*, Jeremy Stacey
Recorded By – Dom Monks*   
A5  The Turning Guitar, Effects [Sound Effects], Chamberlin, Programmed By [Programming] – Ethan Johns
Piano, Organ [SK1] – Richard Causon
Producer – Dom Monks*, Richard Causon
Recorded By – Dom Monks*   
B1  Rally Bass – Danny Thompson
Drums – Jeremy Stacey
Fiddle – Dave Swarbrick
Guitar, Percussion, Vocals – Ethan Johns
Producer – Dom Monks*, Jeremy Stacey
Recorded By – Dom Monks*   
B2  Don't Reach Too Far Drums, Bass – Ryan Adams
Engineer [Additional Engineering] – Dom Monks*, Jeremy Stacey
Guitar, Harmonica, Vocals – Ethan Johns
Organ – Chris Holland
Producer – Ryan Adams
Recorded By – Mike Edge   
B3  Whip Poor Will Backing Vocals – Laura Marling, Ryan Adams
Bass – Danny Thompson
Drum – Jeremy Stacey
Guitar, Vocals – Ethan Johns
Pedal Steel Guitar – Melvyn Duffy*
Producer – Jeremy Stacey, Laura Marling
Recorded By – Jeremy Stacey
Recorded By [Additional Recording] – Dom Monks*   
B4  Willow Instruments [All Instruments] – Ethan Johns
Recorded By – Ethan Johns   
B5  The Long Way Round Bass – Danny Thompson
Drums – Jeremy Stacey
Engineer [Additional Engineering] – Dom Monks*, Richard Causon
Guitar, Vocals – Ethan Johns
Keyboards – Richard Causon
Producer – Dom Monks*, Jeremy Stacey, Richard Causon
Recorded By – Dean Norman   

Companies etc.:
Mixed At – Sunset Sound
Mastered At – Abbey Road Studios
Artwork [Album Artwork] – Jónas Valtýsson
Illustration – Erla María Árnadóttir
Management – Sumit Bothra
Mastered By [Mastered For Vinyl] – Steve Rooke
Mixed By [All Songs] – Glyn Johns
Mixed By [Assisted By] – Morgan Stratton
Photography By – Jennifer Tipoulow
Written-By [All Songs] – Ethan Johns
Gatefold sleeve including a LP sized booklet.
Tracks on back cover are numbered 1 to 10.
INTERVIEW with Ethan Johns
Ellen Sterling, Award-winning journalist and editor
• http://www.huffingtonpost.com/ellen-sterling/ethan-johns-honestly-maki_b_669868.html
• http://thedriftrecordshop.net/collections/frontpage/products/ethan-johns-if-not-now-then-when

Ethan Johns — If Not Now Then When (2012)




Tycho — Weather


Only Yours


Peter Cat Recording Co.







Tais Awards & Harvest Prize
Za Zelenou liškou 140 00 Praha 4, CZE