Při poskytování služeb nám pomáhají soubory cookie. Používáním našich služeb vyjadřujete souhlas s naším používáním souborů cookie. Více informací

Úvodní stránka » RECORDS » RECORDS II » Jim Norton Collective
Jim Norton Collective Time Remembered: Compositions of Bill Evans

Jim Norton Collective — Time Remembered: Compositions of Bill Evans (Nov 18, 2014)

United States Jim Norton Collective — Time Remembered: Compositions of Bill Evans 
•••••  “...one of the most satisfying and revelatory investigations into the music of Bill Evans since the pianist/composer's death...” — ANDY GILBERT, SF CHRONICLE
•–•   Jim Norton is a woodwind multi–instrumentalist, composer and arranger. Originally from the San Francisco Bay Area, Jim has performed, collaborated, and appeared with many other artists in a variety of musical genres, both in the U.S. and abroad. He currently resides in Seattle.
Location: San Francisco Bay Area, CA ~ Seattle, WA
Album release: Nov 18, 2014
•–•   Recorded by Lee Ray, MarketSound Studios, San Jose, CA, April 15–16, 2013
•–•   Mixed by Jeff Cressman at Cressman Music Studio, San Francisco, CA
•–•   Mastered by Gary Mankin at Knob & Tube, San Francisco, CA
Record Label: Origin Records
Duration:     62:54
01. Fudgesickle Built for Four      5:37
02. Time Remembered      3:42
03. Journey to Recife      4:01
04. Five      4:43
05. NYC's No Lark      1:56
06. Interplay      4:02
07. Walkin' Up      3:34
08. Very Early      3:06
09. Bill's Hit Tune      2:58
10. Peri's Scope      3:31
11. Twelve Tone Tune      5:50
12. Laurie      2:20
13. Comrade Conrad      6:01
14. Reprise (Fudgesickle Built for Four)      8:19
15. 34 Skidoo      2:54
Ξ≡Ξ   Tim Devine — Soprano, Alto Saxophones, Piccolo, Flute
Ξ≡Ξ   Kristen Strom — Tenor Saxophone, Flute, Alto Flute
Ξ≡Ξ   Charlie McCarthy — Tenor Saxophone, Flute, Clarinet, Bass Clarinet
Ξ≡Ξ   Jim NortonBaritone Saxophone, Bass Flute, Clarinet, Contra–Alto Clarinet, Bassoon
Ξ≡Ξ   Louis Fasman — Trumpet, Flugelhorn
Ξ≡Ξ   John L. Worley, Jr. — Trumpet, Flugelhorn
Ξ≡Ξ   Cathleen Torres — French Horn
Ξ≡Ξ   Joel Behrman — Tenor Trombone
Ξ≡Ξ   Jeff Cressman — Tenor and Bass Trombone, Mixing, Producer
Ξ≡Ξ   Scott Sorkin — Guitar, Producer
Ξ≡Ξ   John Shifflett — Bass
Ξ≡Ξ   Jason Lewis — Drums
•  Kemi Nakabayashi Executive Producer
•  John Bishop Cover Art, Layout
•  Gary Mankin Mastering
•  Andy Nozaka Photography
•  Lee Ray Engineer
•  Chan Yee Kee Cover Art
•  Andrew Gilbert Liner Notes
By JACK BOWERS, Published: December 12, 2014 | Score: ****½
Ξ≡Ξ   The late Bill Evans was so celebrated a pianist that even some partisans may overlook the fact that he was also a splendid composer with a number of oft–revisited jazz themes to his credit. Saxophonist / arranger Jim Norton hasn't forgotten, and has entrusted Time Remembered, his debut album as leader of the Jim Norton Collective, to music written and sometimes performed by Evans (with one exception, to be explained in due course).
Ξ≡Ξ   These fourteen songs are described by Andrew Gilbert in his brief liner note as "overlooked treasures," which may account for the omission of Evans' best–known composition, "Waltz for Debby" (no other reason is given). What is encompassed is indeed gem–like, from the playful fugue "Fudgesickle Built for Four" (performed twice, in disparate versions) to the time–shifting, brass–infused "34 Skidoo" and everything in between. As implied, one of the songs — "Journey to Recife" — is an anomaly, as it wasn't written by Bill Evans but was attributed to him for years, having actually been composed by Richard L. Evans. As Norton's group had been playing it for more than three decades as a "Bill Evans tune," the decision was made to keep it in the album and give Richard Evans his overdue credit. Good choice.
Ξ≡Ξ   Evans, who swung as hard as he had to, could also write pretty, as witness "Time Remembered," "Laurie" or "Comrade Conrad" (the last a jingle designed for a Crest toothpaste commercial). The flutes are especially engaging on "Conrad," while "Fudgesickle"s' reprise, opening at a far more deliberate tempo, bears scant resemblance to the album's sunny curtain–raiser until more than three minutes have elapsed, when merriment sets in. The twelve–member Collective experiences no problem with that, and in fact handles every challenge as to the manor born. Norton, for his part, inscribes charts that are consistently sharp and tasteful.
Ξ≡Ξ   Norton solos on clarinet ("Walkin' Up") and baritone (the adventurous "Twelve Tone Tune") while bassist John Shiflett is featured on "Time Remembered," guitarist Scott Sorkin on "Bill's Hit Tune," tenor Charlie McCarthy on "Laurie." Others who unleash their weapons and cleave the target include alto / soprano Tim Devine, tenor / flutist Kris Storm, trombonists Joel Behrman and Jeff Cressman, trumpeters John Worley and Louis Fasman. Drummer Jason Lewis anchors the Collective's rock–solid rhythm section. This is music that should be heard more often, deftly performed by an ensemble with no discernible weaknesses. Well worth seeking out.
•  http://www.allaboutjazz.com/
Brent Black | November 29, 2014 | Score: *****
•  Like Bill Evans? Looking for some nice piano? Keep moving...The Jim Norton Collective moves past the traditional and into a more avant garde base from which to examine the harmonic intent of Evans. While the liner notes may give one the impression this is a big band release, don't be followed. At times there are large ensemble arrangements which the more subdued approach is sometimes the melodic road less traveled. Jim Norton has a small arsenal at his disposal including baritone sax, bass clarinet, bass flute and bassoon — not exactly A typical for an in–depth look at perhaps the greatest harmonic master of our time.
•  Arrangements are as varied as the instrumentation with tunes such as "Time Remembered" along with "Five" and "Very Early" all receiving rather individualized reharms for the ensemble to carry out. Meters are ever changing, dynamics and more unusual forms celebrate the genius that is the Bill Evans discography. The polyrhythmic concept is particularly intriguing throughout the release and serves to highlight the variety of presentations that allow Evans's music to take new and intriguing forms.
•  A truly remarkable outing.
Label: http://originarts.com/
Review by Chris Spector, Midwest Record
•  Hmm, a big band tribute to Bill Evans without a piano or "Waltz for Debbie"? A former Bay area sax man heads back into town to hook up with old bandmates for a tip of the hat to Evans that takes his music in a whole other direction with quite satisfactory result. Feeling almost like a jazz into classical session, the whole crew must have loved Evans because the results certainly sound like it. A world away from the trio dates most of these tunes first sprang from, the music retains the lyrical yet progressive edge and the result is a sitting down jazz stunner. Anyone who ever dug Evans is sure to find this in the diggance lineage with ease. Well done throughout.

Jim Norton Collective Time Remembered: Compositions of Bill Evans




Only Yours


Peter Cat Recording Co.






Jesca Hoop — Stonechild


Dire Wolves



Big Red Machine — Big Red Machine (August 31, 2018)
Tais Awards & Harvest Prize
Za Zelenou liškou 140 00 Praha 4, CZE