Při poskytování služeb nám pomáhají soubory cookie. Používáním našich služeb vyjadřujete souhlas s naším používáním souborů cookie. Více informací

Úvodní stránka » GREAT BOOK TAIS AWARDS » Matthew Halsall & The Gondwana Orchestra
Matthew Halsall & The Gondwana Orchestra — Into Forever

Matthew Halsall & The Gondwana Orchestra — Into Forever (2nd October 2015)

  Matthew Halsall & The Gondwana Orchestra — Into Forever Matthew Halsall & The Gondwana Orchestra — Into Forever (2nd October 2015)≡   Manchester based DJ, bandleader and trumpeter, one of the UK’s brightest talents. His albums have won him a legion of fans across the world and acclaim from the likes of Gilles Peterson, Jamie Cullum, Mr Scruff, Radio 3’s Late Junction, MOJO, BBC Music Magazine and BBC 6 Music. ‘On The Go’ was winner of best jazz LP at Gilles Peterson’s Worldwide Awards 2011.
Location: Manchester, UK
Album release: 2nd October 2015
Record Label: Gondwana Records
Duration:     40:10
01 Only a Woman (ft Josephine Oniyama)     3:50
02 As I Walk (ft Josephine Oniyama)     3:30
03 Dawn Horizon     1:12
04 Badder Weather (ft Josephine Oniyama)     4:12
05 These Goodbyes     2:50
06 The Land Of     5:08
07 Longshan Temple     4:24
08 Cushendun     1:28
09 Into Forever (ft Josephine Oniyama)     3:38
10 Daan Park     6:23
11 Jamais Vu (ft Bryony Jarman–Pinto)     3:35
The Gondwana Orchestra:
≡   Matthew Halsall trumpet,
≡   Lisa Mallett flute,
≡   Rachael Gladwin harp,
≡   Keiko Kitamura koto,
≡   Taz Modi piano,
≡   Gavin Barras bass,
≡   Luke Flowers drums,
≡   Sam Bell percussion,
≡   Chris Cruiks percussion (track 7 and additional percussion tracks 4 and 6)
≡   Margit Van Der Zwan cello,
≡   Natalie Purton viola and violin,
≡   John Purton violin (tracks 1, 2 and 11),
≡   Jote Osahn violin (tracks 3, 5, 6 and 7),
≡   Ollie Izod violin (track 5)
≡   Josephine Oniyama vocals,
≡   except Bryony Jarman–Pinto vocals (track 11)
≡   All music composed and arranged by Matthew Halsall, except tracks 1, 4 and 9 composed by Matthew Halsall and Josephine Oniyama and track 11 composed by Matthew Halsall and Bryony Jarman–Pinto
≡   All tracks copyright control Matthew Halsall (except 1, 4 and 9 copyright control Matthew Halsall / Peacefrog Music Ltd
≡   Produced by Matthew Halsall
≡   Recorded, mixed and mastered by George Atkins at 80 Hertz (2013–2015)
≡   Artwork and design by Daniel Halsall
John Fordham, Thursday 24 September 2015 18.15 BST; Score: ***
≡   With last year’s Gondwana Orchestra album When The World Was One, northern trumpeter and composer Matthew Halsall eloquently blended the tranquil tone–poetry of Alice Coltrane and the jazz intensity of her husband, John, with sounds of a kindred spirit from Japan and the east. Into Forever expands that lineup with a string quartet and the gospel and R&B–infused sound of the powerful Manchester vocalist Josephine Oniyama. Halsall’s jazz sensibilities constantly lead him to energise the gentlest passages with contrastingly prodding bass hooks, tough drum patterns and rimshot snaps (as on The Land Of), McCoy Tyner–like piano lines edging through Rachael Gladwin’s harp swoops (Badder Weather), or his own unhurried trumpet reflections, as on Daan Park. The Gondwana Orchestra’s sound palette is frequently gorgeous, and Oniyama’s dramatic presence will undoubtedly broaden their appeal, even if the directness of lyrics may diminish some of their earlier ethereal attraction for some.
≡   http://www.theguardian.com/
Website: http://www.matthewhalsall.com/
Bandcamp: http://matthewhalsall.bandcamp.com/album/into-forever
Twitter: https://twitter.com/matthalsalljazz
Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/matthewhalsall
Label: http://www.gondwanarecords.com/

Matthew Halsall & The Gondwana Orchestra — Into Forever



Tycho — Weather


Only Yours


Peter Cat Recording Co.







Nina Rao — Anubhav (Sep 28, 2018)
Tais Awards & Harvest Prize
Za Zelenou liškou 140 00 Praha 4, CZE