Při poskytování služeb nám pomáhají soubory cookie. Používáním našich služeb vyjadřujete souhlas s naším používáním souborů cookie. Více informací

Úvodní stránka » RECORDS » Moritz von Oswald & Nils Petter Molvær
Moritz von Oswald & Nils Petter Molvær — 1/1 (2013)

 Moritz von Oswald & Nils Petter Molvær — 1/1

Moritz von Oswald & Nils Petter Molvær — 1/1
Location: Berlin, Germany ~ Langevåg, Møre og Romsdal, Norway
Album release: October 4th, 2013
Record Label: EmArcy
Duration:     67:34
1. Noise 1        4:44
2. Step By Step        7:49
3. Transition        15:00
4. Development        8:28
5. Further        6:19
6. Future        8:59
7. Development (Ricardo Mix Dig)        7:25
8. Noise 2        9:00
Δ   Nils Petter Molvær: trumpet
Δ   Moritz von Oswald: programming, recording, synthesizing
Δ   Laurens von Oswald: programming, recording, synthesizing
≡   The album was recorded earlier this year in von Oswald's Berlin studio, and across eight tracks the German artist's synth manipulations are paired with Molvaer's trumpet. ≡   Von Oswald's love of jazz is well-documented — it's been an underlying influence on much of his work over the past two decades, and his most recent LP, a collaborative album with Juan Atkins called Borderland, combined elements of jazz, dub and techno.
By JONATHAN PATRICK on Aug 13 2013
≡   Moritz von Oswald, who transformed techno’s monochromatic blacks and whites into the most brilliant colors, is continuing his steady lurch into the improvised music arena by teaming up with future jazz trumpeter/composer Nils Petter Molvær. Their collaborative work, an album entitled 1/1, was recorded earlier this year in Oswald’s Berlin studio. This upcoming release finds Oswald playing Eno-esque knob twiddler to Molvær’s trumpet acrobatics, the two weaving an improvised tapestry of rubbery electronics and nu jazz eclecticism.
≡   Oswald’s renowned knack for subtle but cortex-drilling productions — all crumbling moonscapes and reverb-chambers — quite frankly always ears the words from my mouth. It’s a shame, then, that none of those poignant words found their way here; it sure would have been helpful (damnit). So it goes. Here, rearrange these descriptors as you may: metal thunder, pure, hard, tectonic growls, Pollock-like free strewn tendrils, electrical sizzle, echo-shaken percussion; please be kind, and while you read this, make me sound unceasingly witty in your head.
Fortaken: http://www.tinymixtapes.com/
Born: 1962, Berlin, Germany
Occupations: Record producer, multi-instrumentalist
Instruments: Synthesizer, percussion
≡   Moritz von Oswald (born 1962), who was one half of both Basic Channel and Maurizio, is a German multi-instrumentalist who went on to become one of the most influential record producers of techno music in the 1990s.
≡   Von Oswald was born in Berlin, Germany. In the 1980s, he was percussionist for Palais Schaumburg and Associates, but moved into electronic music by the late 1980s. ≡   He did this first in 2MB and 3MB (with Thomas Fehlmann), and later he co-founded the Basic Channel label with Mark Ernestus, whose various releases came to epitomize minimal techno. A part of the Berlin/Detroit axis, Basic Channel characterized minimal techno along with other artists like Robert Hood, Jeff Mills, Mike Banks, and UR. Living in Berlin, von Oswald was also part of a music scene that pivoted around the Tresor Club and record label, as well as Hard Wax, the record store founded by Ernestus. Basic Channel and Maurizio records are characterized by a 4x4 beats with dub-inflected syncopated synth pads slowly modulated over time, most 12"s containing tracks that take up the entire side of each record. Their work was influential for Richie Hawtin, Thomas Brinkmann, Robert Henke (aka Monolake), Wolfgang Voigt, and later through artists whose records were released on the label Chain Reaction Records, part of the Basic Channel family.
≡   His work with Mark Ernestus as Rhythm & Sound fused his interests in dub reggae and techno, where Jamaican vocalists sing or speak over stripped down techno beats and bass. His most recent releases are with the Moritz von Oswald Trio, where he 'conducts' Max Loderbauer (Sun Electric) and Sasu Ripatti, aka Vladislav Delay. The Moritz van Oswald Trio released Fetch in July 2012.
≡   Moritz von Oswald: http://www.basicchannel.com
≡   Little White Earbuds interviews:
≡   http://www.littlewhiteearbuds.com/feature/lwe-interviews-moritz-von-oswald/#.UolFw9JWx8E
Nils Petter Molvær
Born: 18 September 1960, Langevåg, Møre og Romsdal, Norway
≡   Nils Petter was writing music for the theatre (including Ibsen’s "Ghosts), and for film, another long list including Edy, Es schläft ein Lied in allen Dingen, Frozen Heart, Stratosphere Girl, The Invention of Love, Leaps and Bounds, Shameless, and the TV series Harry and Charles, and playing a key role in awakening the world to Norway’s key role in the development of jazz and contemporary music.
≡   The music spilling out of the studio on Giske is still unequivocally Nils Petter Molvaer. It has the passion, the ethereal beauty, the darkness, but also the compassion and the heartfelt humanity which you feel is at the centre of his music making all channelled through in a remarkable small brass instrument handmade in Luton.
Website: http://www.nilspettermolvaer.info/
≡   By JOHN KELMAN, Published: November 10, 2013
≡   http://www.allaboutjazz.com/php/article.php?id=45782#.UolJWdJWx8E © Marion Benoit

Moritz von Oswald & Nils Petter Molvær — 1/1 (2013)




Tycho — Weather


Only Yours


Peter Cat Recording Co.







ROBERT WYATT — Theatre Royal Drury Lane
Tais Awards & Harvest Prize
Za Zelenou liškou 140 00 Praha 4, CZE