Only Yours — Overrun (Feb. 1, 2019)
•Φ•     Produkoval legendární producent , Joe Chiccarelli  (The Shins, The White Stripes, Morrissey) a režíroval Leon Taheny (Arcade Fire, Dilly Dally Weaves). ‘Overrun’ je lehoučké album v každém smyslu tohoto slova, je to sbírka deseti propojených písní, které se vyznačují konzistencí bezkonkurenčního řemeslného zpracování. Indie~popová nahrávka ponoří posluchače do high~energy cítění, jízdy sborů a epických, emocionálně nabitých balad. Výsledkem je ohromující záznam, který okamžitě může být chápán jako emocionálně povědomý a přitom zároveň zcela svěží a moderní. „Overrun (Překročení)“ nabízí vrstvy muzikálnosti kolem sebereflexních otázek a objevů, přičemž všechny jsou jemně a pečlivě vybírané a promyšlené — (pod kuratelou) popové senzitivity.
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Style: Pop, Singer~Songwriter
Album release: February 1st, 2019
Record Label: Pirates Blend
Duration:     42:22
01. Doubts   4:02
02. Different   4:10
03. Overrun   4:08
04. By Now   4:19
05. Hamburg   4:05
06. Surely I   4:49
07. Everlasting   4:12
08. Half Alive   4:14
09. Haunted by Love   4:01
10. Stay   4:22
✹   Lead by acclaimed songwriter, Lowell Sostomi, Only Yours’ debut full length, Overrun, is a seasoned, emotionally intelligent album about self~reflection and existing in an overwhelming time.
✹   “The album is an admission of my own faults and flaws as an individual and partner and the effect it’s had on others, while searching for my own purpose and reason”, says Sostomi.
✹   Sostomi’s signature baritone voice and bitter~sweet emotive lyrics, boldly define the Toronto~based four~piece’s incredible debut release. An album in every sense of the word, Overrun is a collection of ten inter~connected works, boasting consistency and unparalleled song craftsmanship. An indie pop record, immersing the listener in high energy, driving choruses and epic, emotionally charged ballads.
✹   Produced by legendary Los Angeles producer, Joe Chiccarelli, (The Shins, The White Stripes, Morrissey) Sostomi and his band, made up of Drummer, Kyle Watt, Keys/Guitarist, Shaun Hogan and Bassist, Devon Henderson, set up shop at Union Sound Company in Toronto with engineer, Leon Taheny (Arcade, Dilly Dally, Weaves) to track their debut release. The result is a stunning record that feels at once emotionally familiar and yet, simultaneously, completely fresh and modern. Overrun is a record that warrants a listener’s investment to discovery; revealing more and more musical sustenance with each listen. An album that grows with it’s listener, uncovering new favourite songs and personal narratives within them. It offers layers of musicality around self~reflective questions and discoveries, all finely curated with pop sensibilities.
✹   “I want to continue to hold the value of an album, despite loving singles and playlists. To have the album hold up as a whole book, as much as a single song be its own chapter within in it. Streaming has really changed how we all listen and discover music, it shouldn’t however, change the value of what we create and the stories we as songwriters tell.”
✹   Overrun‘s musicianship and arrangements are prominently captured by Chiccarelli and Taheny. Arena filling drums and warm synth pads provide a huge sonic backdrop for the interweaving guitar and bass lines driving the tracks forward Featured instrumentation include full string arrangements on stand out tracks “By Now,” “Surely I” and “Stay,” performed by Drew Jurecka, to a throwback saxophone feature on the energy packed track “Everlasting” by the renowned, Joseph Shabason, best known for his work with Destroyer.
✹   “There is a lot of music that sonically sounds great, but can lack sincerity. As a writer, everything I do is based on a solid foundation of a song~first mentality. From there, we collectively build up the soundscapes and production qualities to marriage the concepts”.
✹   Since their debut in 2016, Only Yours have built their foundation with their self~titled debut EP, two additional singles “Living In The Moment” & “Waiting” and an exclusive RSD 7”. This project is Sostomi’s return to the stage after leading the renowned Roots-rock band, The Great Bloomers (Maple Music / Dine Alone Records), to national praise and notable performances alongside Arkells, Winter Sleep, Pearl Jam and The Hold Steady to name a few. Only Yours have already earned meaningful press from The Clash, CBC, Indie 88 and Exclaim!, while securing over half a million streams landing on premiere playlists including New Music Friday, New Music Now, Indie All Stars, Indie Radar and many more. They’ve sold out all of their headline performance dates in Toronto and have acted as direct support for notable acts including The Revivalists, Daywave, BAIO, Amy Shark and TUNS, while turning heads at festivals including NXNE and CMW.
✹   Overrun is an incredible debut album showcasing Sostomi’s undeniable ability to capture earnest moments in song, coupled with exciting and original arrangements and performed with excitement and precision.

by Rich Barnard
✹    Ever feel like bands peddling soaring, epic pop just pass you by like buses in a big city? You hop on, you hop off and you don’t give much thought to where they’re going next. Well, Only Yours is one bus that you should definitely be catching. In fact, if you can bear to keep running alongside the clumsy public transport metaphor, Overrun is a record you simply must not miss.
✹    The Canadian quartet are fronted by songwriter/vocalist Lowell Sostomi who, with a delivery that is equal parts Chris Martin and Phil Oakey, charms and disarms with opener ‘Doubts’, its chorus confessing “you were right/to have your doubts/I let you down/this time”. The song marks out the band’s sonic territory: a marriage of glistening 80s keyboards, Edge guitars and contemporary, charging drums. The arresting (and equally catchy) ‘Different’ follows, brimming with dreams of a bright future and coming over like A~ha covering a Springsteen classic. Then title track ‘Overrun’, with a similarly hopeful sentiment — its protagonist seeking escape from existential stagnation — completes a hat~trick of stunningly slick hits~in~waiting.
✹    It’s not often that albums go bam~bam~bam like this, as if each shining anthem has been casually pulled from an everlasting vat of songwriting nectar but as Overrun continues, the quality refuses to drop off and you become faintly aware that what you’re experiencing is a Classic Album. Albums, of course, are meant to be a relic of the physical~music era but this collection of songs is a defiant testament to their survival in the digital age. Amid pace~changes for the spacious ballad ‘Surely I’ and the disco~flavoured ‘Everlasting’; the wall~of synths that is ‘Hamburg’ and the sheer early 80s bliss of ‘Haunted by Love’ absolutely everything fits together in a perfect ten~song package. It’s possibly the most coherent record you will hear all year. And, at the risk of making rash promises, you will want to listen to it all year too because it has pretty much everything (I imagine) you’re after: punch, precision and passion; style, substance and Songs (yes, Songs with a capital S).
✹    The musical confidence and sonic vitality coursing through Overrun has to be credited — in part at least — to legendary producer Joe Chiccarelli. He’s enabled Only Yours to turn out the kind of record that could spawn hit after hit after hit, given the right exposure. All you have to do now is climb aboard. If you want me, I’ve taken a seat on the top deck and will be here now until the last stop.