Ricardo Peixoto — Scary Beautiful (Feb. 16, 2019) Pamela MÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃéndez ÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃâ Time (22 Feb 2019)•⊆⊇•      A beautiful collection of compositions reflecting subtle universes colorful and deep, where the Brazilian collective subconscious and jazz converge. Guitarist, composer and arranger Ricardo Peixoto came to the US on a scholarship to the Berklee College of Music in Boston and subsequently settled in the Bay Area. His compositions have been featured on ‘Inverse Universe’ with vocalist Claudia Villela, on ‘Kindness of Strangers’ with Terra Sul, and on Bud Shank’s ‘Tomorrow’s Rainbow’, among others. He has recorded, performed and collaborated with, among others, Flora Purim and Airto, Dom Um Romão, Sivuca, Claudio Roditi, Toots Thielemans, Dori Caymmi, Guinga, Arturo Sandoval and Spok. He has performed throughout the US, Europe, Canada, Japan and Brazil.
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil ~ San Francisco Bay Area
Album release: February 16, 2019
Record Label: Moving Finger Music
Duration:     47:01
01 Circles   4:58
02 Santos e Demônios   6:29
03 Scary Beautiful   5:27
04 Nereids   1:19
05 Morro da Paixão   6:13
06 Simpática   3:47
07 Pixinguinga   5:21
08 Velha Amizade   4:58
09 Noturna   3:08
10 Baião de Três   5:21
•   Ricardo Peixoto — guitars on all tracks
•   Paul McCandless, soprano sax; Ken Cook, piano; Cliff Hugo, bass; Kendrick Freeman, drums; Brian Rice, percussion
Santos e Demônios
•   Bob Afifi, flute; Paul Hanson, bassoon; Marcos Silva, Piano; Scott Thompson, bass; Brian Rice, percussion; John Santos, percussion; Kendrick Freeman, percussion
Scary Beautiful
•   Bob Afifi, flute; Marcos Silva, Piano; Aaron Germain, bass; Rafael Barata, drums; Brian Rice, percussion; Bernardo Bessler, violin; Priscila Plata Rato, violin; Marie Christine Bessler, viola; Marcus Ribeiro de Oliveira, cello
Strings arranged by Luiz Brasil
•   Claudia Villela, voice; Bob Afifi, flute; Aaron Germain, bass; Marcus Ribeiro de Oliveira, cello; Rob Reich, accordion
Morro da Paixão
•   Jessé Sadoc, flugelhorn; Marcelo Martins, tenor sax; Aldivas Ayres, trombone; Marcos Silva, piano; Scott Thompson, bass; Mike Shapiro, drums; Luiz Brasil, tenor guitar, percussion; Ricardo Guerra, percussion
Horns arranged by Luiz Brasil
•   Marcos Silva, piano
•   Bob Afifi, flute; Harvey Wainapel, clarinet/bass clarinet; Kyle Bruckman, oboe Woodwinds arranged by Jasnam Daya Singh
Velha Amizade
•   Bob Afifi, flute/alto flute; Ken Cook, piano; Cliff Hugo, bass; Kendrick Freeman, drums; Brian Rice, percussion
Baião de Três
•   Bob Afifi, flute; Marcos Silva, piano; Aaron Germain, bass; Rafael Barata, drums; Brian Rice, percussion
•   All compositions by Ricardo Peixoto, published by Moving Finger Music, except
Simpática music by Ricardo Peixoto and Claudia Villela, and
Circles and Pixinguinga, lyrics by Claudia Villela, published by Moving Finger Music and Tainá Music
•   Produced by Ricky Fataar & Ricardo Peixoto
•   Made possible in part by a grant from InterMusicSF’s Musical Grant Program
•   Special thanks to Ricky Fataar, Luiz Brasil, Bob Afifi, Jean Michel Huré and all the musicians who participated in the project
Basic Tracks recorded at/by:
•   Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, CA/Adam Muñoz
•   Opus Studios, Berkeley, CA/Dave Luke
•   Historic Studios, Berkeley, CA/Ricky Fataar, Michael Gray
Overdubs recorded at/by:
•   Historic Studio, Berkeley, CA/Ricky Fataar
•   What’s for Lunch?, El Cerrito, CA/Dan Feiszli
•   Lontra Music, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil/João Ferraz
•   La Maison, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil/Didier Antonio Marinho
•   Mixed by Dan Feiszli at What’s for Lunch?
•   Mastered by Luiz Tornaghi at Estudio Batmasterson, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
•   Graphic Design: Helena Salgado
•   Photo: David Belove
•   Moving Finger Productions
By NICHOLAS F. MONDELLO; Score: ♦♦♦♦½ 
•⊆⊇•     A well~known chocolate confection advertises itself as “Indescribably Delicious.” That phrase also aptly describes guitarist/composer Ricardo Peixoto’s album, Scary Beautiful. It is a recording of rainbow textures, infectious energies and utterly superior musicianship. And, it is one that encourages devouring.
•⊆⊇•     Peixoto (pronounced pay~sho~to), Brazilian by birth and now residing in L.A., gives us his third — and best — recording to date as leader. As one might expect of a player from such a rich musical and cultural landscape, the effort is lush with vivid and exotic Brazilian (and other) rhythms, deeply probing melodies, marvelous orchestrations and much passion. It is a near~hour of pure aural joy.
•⊆⊇•     The ten tracks — all Peixoto originals — are exotic in terms of their rhythmic, melodic and harmonic soundscapes. Yet each is approachable and seductive in appeal. For example, the opener, “Circles,” is a dance~like up~tempo melody with Peixoto and soprano saxophonist Pete McCandless doubling, and each exploring inventively. The darker/lighter energetic “Santos e Demônios” is a brilliant “battle” where the arrangement and orchestration are perfection. The incorporation of strings with woodwinds and guitar is superb on “Scary Beautiful.” “Nerieds,” brief and beautiful, is a haunting, cinematic track in which voice, flute, cello and accordion spook. The contemporary upbeat samba, “Morro da Paixão” adds horns (and a terrific flugelhorn solo by Jessé Sadoc) in Luiz Brazil’s sophisticated arrangement.
•⊆⊇•     Throughout the session, Peixoto demonstrates that he has tremendous classical and jazz guitar chops and also that he’s been influenced by the legendary Pat Metheny (a teacher/mentor of Peixoto’s at Berklee). Peixoto's solos are invigorating, superbly configured, and mesh beautifully with the textures around and below him (e.g. “Morro da Paixão,”). There’s plenty of restrained and exhibited passion in Peixoto’s playing. He is no show~off, but he shows and knows beauty — for example, on the expressive duet with pianist Marcus Silva on “Simpática” and the beautiful yearning ballad “Pixinguinga,” a tribute to two legendary Brazilian composers.
•⊆⊇•     While respecting them, Peixoto steers clear of more familiar bossa nova grooves, the exception being “Velha Amizade,” a terrific composition which warrants a lyric. This is classic, traditional Brazilian fare contemporized and performed with zest by outstanding musicians across the board.
•⊆⊇•     Scary Beautiful is an escape to an enchanted place where the mind can expand and embrace musical visions. It is a superior effort, as sweet as they come. And, as they say in Brazil, “Indescritivalmente deliciosio!”  •  https://www.allaboutjazz.com/ 
Website: https://www.ricardopeixoto.com/ 
CD Baby: https://store.cdbaby.com/cd/ricardopeixoto